Xavier O.R. Shields

Memorial Scholarship

Scholarship Criteria for Xavier O.R. Shields Memorial Scholarship


Purpose:                        The XORS Scholarship Committee awards scholarships to college-bound high school seniors who will advocate in the spreading of awareness about the dangers of reckless driving to their peers.


Criteria:                          The students eligible for assistance must be graduating high school seniors who reside in the continental US and intend to continue their education at a two or four-year college or university. Students must write an essay answering the question, “What are the causes and effects of speeding while driving, and what advice would you give your peers to prevent such action?”. The essay must be a minimum of 500 words, in Times New Roman sized 12 font, and doubled spaced. A cover letter must accompany the essay with the topic, student’s name, present school and date. A copy of the acceptance letter from the four-year college or university must be included.


Guidelines:                   Scholarships will be awarded on an annual basis and disbursed between June through August. The Scholarship Committee will evaluate each entry based on our criteria.  Provide an appropriate mailing address in which correspondence can be mailed. Scholarship runs from September to March of every year.


Amount:                         Each scholarship awarded will be $500.00. A check will be made in the winning recipient’s name. Payment will be given at a future disclosed location.


Deadline:                       The application deadline is March 8th. The deadline is the date after which applications will no longer be accepted. The XORS Scholarship Committee uses the postmarked date to determine mailed entries.


Renewal process:     This scholarship is not renewable. Only high school seniors intending to enroll in a two or four-year college or university are eligible to apply. Previous scholarship recipients cannot re-apply.


Please submit essays by March 8th:
Families Against Reckless Driving
ATTN: XORS Memorial Scholarship Committee
PO BOX 368
Uniondale NY, 11553

For questions, comments, or concerns please email FARDINC.ORG@GMAIL.COM


*All entries submitted will become the sole property of Families Against Reckless Driving, Inc.
**Winning recipient  must agree that their photograph will be used in the promotion of the scholarship. Please refer to WWW.FARDINC.ORG for our Photo & Video Disclaimer

Scholarship Winners

2006 Ketura Eason
2007 Ashlea McLaughlin
2007 Arianna Gradison
2008 Rahda Ramjeawan
2009 Kelly Gilgeours
2009 Shaneequa O'Brien
2010 Samantha Singh
2010 Mkhail Moulton
2011 Alesia Ford
2012 Teneille Murray
2012 Katherine Duquesney
2013 Dennis Sosa
2013 Tara Lamb
2013 Dervin Lewis
2014 Neguss Flash
2014 Tyler Samuels
2014 Ryan Sheperd
2015 Tiye Bradley
2015 Azana Newman
2015 Annika Johnson
2016 Danielle Lewis
2016 Shaffiou Assoumanou
2016 Tyler Lamb
2016 Markia Kennedy
2017 Alreth Perez
2018 Joy Pressley
Show More

All rights reserved. Content.  © 2016-2021 Familes Against Reckless Driving, Incorporated.

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Instagram
2011 Alesia Ford